# Appointments and awards

## 2021 EPS prizes announced

The European Physical Society (EPS) High Energy and Particle Physics (HEPP) division has announced the recipients of its 2021 awards. Torbjörn Sjöstrand (below) (Lund University) and



Bryan Webber (below) (University of Cambridge) have won the 2021 EPS—HEPP Prize for the conception, development and realisation of parton—shower Monte Carlo simulations, which have been key to the experimental validation of the Standard Model and searches for new physics. The 2021 Giuseppe and Vanna Cocconi Prize has been awarded to the Borexino Collaboration for its observation of solar neutrinos from the pp chain and CNO cycle.



while the 2021 Gribov Medal goes to Bernhard Mistlberger (SLAC) for his contributions to multi-loop computations in QCD and to high-precision predictions of Higgs- and vector-boson production at hadron colliders. The 2021 Young Experimental Physicist Prize has been awarded to Nathan Jurik (CERN) for outstanding contributions to the LHCb experiment, including the discovery of pentaguarks, and the measurements of CP violation and mixing in the B- and D-meson systems, and to ATLAS physicist Ben Nachman (LBNL Berkeley) for exceptional and innovative contributions to the study of QCD jets. Last but not least, the three winners of the 2021 Outreach

Prize have been named as Uta Bilow (TU Dresden) and Kenneth Cecire (University of Notre Dame) for their contributions to the International Particle Physics Master Classes, and Sascha Mehlhase (LMU München) for the creation of the LEGO ATLAS and other models. The five prizes will be presented during the EPS-HEP Conference on 26 July, which will take place online.

# Recognition for Ballarino

Amalia Ballarino of CERN has been named the recipient of the 2021 IEEE James Wong Award for her significant and continuing contributions to superconductor materials. In particular, Ballarino was recognised for leading successful R&D programmes with the high-temperature superconductor MgB2, including the development of MgB2 wire suitable for cabling, for promoting fruitful cooperation between



research and industry, and for launching R&D activity in superconductors for future particle accelerators. The award, which comes with a \$5000 honorarium and a pure-niobium medal, has been granted annually since 2000, with CERN being home to more winners than any other institution.

#### Guido Altarelli Award

The 2021 Guido Altarelli Award, established in 2016 for outstanding contributions by junior scientists to deep-inelastic scattering (DIS) and related subjects, goes



to Eleni Vryonidou (bottom left) of the University of Manchester "for seminal contributions to precision collider phenomenology, specifically in the development of the effective field theory approach", and Benjamin Nachman (below), who is also a winner of the 2021 EPS Young Experimental Physicist Prize (see left). "for precision measurements



of observables sensitive to jet substructure and use of innovative machine learning techniques". The award, announced in April during the DIS2021 workshop, is named after the late CERN theorist Guido Altarelli, who made seminal contributions to OCD.

### CMS celebrates theses

The CMS collaboration has recognised Matteo Defranchis (University of Hamburg), Cristina Martin Perez (Institut Polytechnique de Paris) and Thorben Ouast (RWTH Aachen University) with the 2020 CMS Thesis Award. The three theses. selected from a total of 24 nominations, focus, respectively, on the first experimental determination of the running of the top-quark mass, the optimisation of algorithms identifying hadronic tau decays in top-Higgs associated production, and the development of the CMS high-granularity calorimeter.

# New ICECUBE spokesperson

On 1 May, experimental astroparticle physicist Ignacio Taboada of the Georgia Institute of Technology began his two-year term as spokesperson of the IceCube collaboration, replacing Darren Grant who has served as spokesperson for the South Pole neutrino observatory since 2019. Taboada currently leads a research



group at the Center for Relativistic Astrophysics at Georgia Tech, which has made significant contributions to IceCube by using data to search for neutrinos from transient sources, including blazar flares.

#### Brookhaven hires Gao

Experimental nuclear physicist Haiyan Gao (below) has been appointed associate laboratory director for nuclear and particle physics at Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL), beginning 1 June, Gao, whose research interests include the structure of the nucleon, searches for exotic QCD states and new physics in electroweak interactions, is a professor at Duke University, and has previously held positions at Argonne and MIT. At BNL she replaces Dmitri Denisov, who has held the position on an interim basis after Berndt Müller's departure last year.



## Olga Igonkina fellowship

LHCb researcher Anna Danilina of Moscow State University has been awarded the 2021 Olga Igonkina travel grant for young Russian talent in physics. The award, which was established in memory of the late Russian – Dutch ATLAS physicist Olga "Olya" Igonkina, who passed away in 2019 at the age of 45, will enable Danilina to participate in the Rencontres de Blois conference in October, where she will present calculations of the decay of B – mesons to four leptons.

60